History of Gamba Osaka

The club was originally formed in 1985 as the company team of Matsushita Electronics a.k.a. Panasonic. The club name was changed to Panasonic Gamba Osaka in October 1991 with a view to becoming one of Japan's first professional clubs.

The newly named club made their debut in the inaugural edition of the League Cup in 1992 and then became founder members of the J.League in 1993 - now known simply as Gamba Osaka . They finished 8th (out of 10 clubs) in the first stage and 6th in the second stage that season. They rarely challenged at the top in the early years and by the turn of the century their best performance had been a place as runners-up in the second stage of 1997.

The fortunes of the club changed in 2002 when Akira Nishino was appointed as manager. By 2005 they were league champions for the first time ever, following the most dramatic final day in J.League history. They added a League Cup in 2007 and then 2008 saw them crowned as champions of Asia as well as picking up their first Emperor's Cup as Gamba Osaka (Matsushita had won the cup in 1990). Another Emperor's Cup followed in 2009 but the trophies dried up and Nishino was relieved of his duties following a second trophyless season in 2011.

The replacement of Nishino was handled disastrously and, as a result, the club struggled in 2012 and ended up getting relegated from the top division for the first time ever. A new chapter in the history of the club is about to be written.


J.League, Division 1 (1): 2005 (Runner-up: 2010)

AFC Champions League (1): 2008

Emperor's Cup (2): 2008, 2009 (Runner-up: 2006)

J.League Cup (1): 2007 (Runner-up: 2005)

Super Cup (1): 2007 (Runner-up: 2006, 2009, 2010)

Further Reading

Below you can find links to pages that detail the history of the club further.

: A full list of all players of the club with links to individual profile pages.